Twelve High Tech Students Qualify to Enter the 2016 National Merit® Scholarship Program

(Evanston, IL—September 23, 2015) High Tech High School seniors Amina and Sara Bendaoud, George Iskander, and Hayoung Park of Bayonne; Harrison resident Rora Cai; Jack Tisdell of Hoboken; Kearny resident Sabina Ohkawa; Nicholas Palmer and Jennifer Tu of North Bergen; Secaucus residents Ryan Gulati and Justin Luh; and Emory Kemph of Weehawken have met the qualifications for the National Merit® Scholarship Program, announced Dr. Joseph Giammarella, Principal of High Tech.

A Letter of Commendation from High Tech High School and the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) will be presented by Dr. Giammarella to the twelve outstanding scholars.  NMSC has recognized approximately 34,000 Commended Students throughout the country, although they will not continue in the competition for National Merit® Scholarships in 2016.  Commended Students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2016 competition by taking the PSAT/NMSQT® last year. 

“The young men and women being named Commended Students have shown outstanding potential for academic success,” commented Eileen Artemakis and Matthew Budreau, spokespersons for NMSC.  “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation.  We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

Scroll to top