Twelve High Tech Students Qualify to Enter the 2016 National Merit® Scholarship Program

(Evanston, IL—April 7, 2015) Twelve High Tech High School juniors have met the qualifications for the National Merit® Scholarship Program, announced Dr. Joseph Giammarella, Principal of High Tech High School.

A Letter of Commendation from High Tech High School and the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) will be presented by Dr. Giammarella to the twelve outstanding scholars.  NMSC has recognized approximately 34,000 Commended Students and 16,000 will be named National Merit Program Semifinalists throughout the country.  Commended Students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2015 competition by taking the PSAT/NMSQT® last year. Semifinalists and Commended Students in the 2016 National Merit Program will learn of their standing in September.  Semifinalists will be the only students who will have a chance to compete for 8,000 National Merit Scholarships offered in 2016.

The following students will receive recognition in the 2016 National Merit Scholarship program in the fall: Amina and Sara Bendaoud and George Iskander of Bayonne; Harrison residents Rora Cai and Keyu Sheng; Jack Tisdell of Hoboken; Kearny resident Sabina Ohkawa; Nicholas Palmer and Jennifer Tu of North Bergen; Secaucus residents Ryan Gulati and Justin Luh; and Emory Kemph of Weehawken.

Scroll to top