Seven High Tech Students Qualify to Enter the 2017 National Merit® Scholarship Program

(Evanston, IL—April 13, 2016) High Tech High School juniors Amanda Chang of Bayonne, Harrison resident Mingyu Zhao, Hoboken resident Jacob Grossbard, Hank Portney of Jersey City, Kearny resident Kevin Shi, and Shreyas Agarwal and Fujia Ren of Secaucus have met the qualifications for the National Merit® Scholarship Program, announced Dr. Joseph Giammarella, Principal of High Tech High School.

With a selection Index score of 209 or above, each student ranks among the 50,000 highest-scoring participants of those 1.5 million program entrants.  Because they have demonstrated outstanding academic potential, they will be referred by the College Plans Reporting Service (CPRS) to two U.S. colleges or universities that interest them. 

Of these 50,000 highest-scoring participants, about 16,000 will be recognized as National Merit Program semifinalists, representing the top scorers in each state, and approximately 34,000 other high scorers will be commended for their performances on the PSAT/NMSQT.  Semifinalists will have the opportunity to continue in the competition for Merit Scholarship® awards.

Scroll to top